Laissez Les Bonnes Temps Rouler with Tony Clifton!

30 07 2008

Last Thursday, I was at Blue Line in Wicker Park and met a singer from New Orleans named Gina. I asked her what she was doing in Chicago, and she mentioned that she is on tour and a member of a giant performance group called the “Katrina Kiss My Ass Orchestra.” After laughing, I asked her to explain more about the show…

Turns out that the “Katrina” orchestra is in Comic Relief’s “The Return of Tony Clifton” at the Chopin Theatre. I was unfamiliar with Tony Clifton’s act, but after checking out the website, I’ve learned that he’s a lounge singer character who performs a set complete with burlesque dancers, singers and live musicians. From what I’ve read, his act is very funny and always receives rave reviews!

The shows will benefit musicians from the Gulf Coast who are trying to get back in the swing of things (literally) with new instruments, etc. I can’t speak for the other areas along the Gulf Coast, but one of the things that I loved most about the N.O. (besides the food) was the music. It’s the soul of the city, so I’m definitely planning on checking the show out!

“The Return of Tony Clifton and his Katrina Kiss My Ass Orchestra” runs from July 31st-August 17th at the Chopin Theatre (1543 W. Division, Chicago). Tickets are $15 in advance, and $20 at the door, with all the proceeds benefitting Gulf Coast musicians. For more information, please visit tonyclifton.net!

 

-kb

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

