KB’s Journey: DC + MS

22 09 2008

Hey, all! Happy Monday! I’m in DC this week and very excited about hanging with friends and family (once they arrive from Chicago)! This week is looking to be a busy one for me. Today and tomorrow, I will be volunteering at the Capitol chapter of the MS Society! This weekend is the huge Capital Challenge walk, a two-day, 50 K walk to raise funds for MS research and programs. I don’t know if you remember this, but I was training to participate in this walk earlier in the summer. However, due to a scheduling conflict on Saturday, I won’t be able to join the walk! Whomp, whomp 😦

I’ll be spending my days helping assemble rest stop boxes, organize signage, assemble walk packets, etc! I’m looking forward to my two days in-office, and really blessed that my company has a “Charity Days” program. Employees are allowed two days/year to volunteer at their favorite charity. Does your employer have a program like this? If so, I strongly encourage you to take advantage and use those days! A lot of nonprofits run on small budgets, so anytime they can have (free) help around the office…GREAT!

Alright, guys…I’m off to catch the Metro into the office (wow…I sounded like a true DC-er)! I’ll keep you posted on how my two days go!

-kb

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

