“Will a Man Rob God?” – Giving In Church

6 01 2009

Okay, let’s talk about something personal. Every year, I resolve to stay faithful and up-to-date on my tithes and offerings at church…and every year, I stumble and falter along the way. My pastor has been preaching on the topic of finances for the past few months, covering everything from faith-based philanthropy to Sunday’s topic, giving what you owe the Lord. 

I’m not going to lie…I should probably definitely give more money in church than I do. Some of you won’t admit it, but I have NO problem being honest about that. So, the sermon was definitely hard for me to swallow. Especially when Reverend brought out the scripture “Will a man rob God?…” The answer? Yes. That makes me sad. I mean, how can you (I) rob God???? 😦

Anyways, needless to say, this year, I’m going to stick to my guns and sacrifice what is owed and anything additional in church. Period. I give funds and attend special events to raise money for my favorite charities, knowing that I should’ve also put an extra $20 in the offering basket for the scholarship fund! 

This year will be the year to get it right! Besides, I’m going to need all the favor that I can get!

Anyone else struggle with this?

-kb

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

