Red Pumps and Needed Conversation!

10 03 2009

redpp-01

Today is National Women and Girls HIV/AIDS Awareness Day, an initiative started to discuss the impact of HIV/AIDS on the lives of women and girls, and motivate us to take action. When I last was tested in December (around World AIDS Day), I remember the counselor telling me that he was seeing young girls coming in and being diagnosed with HIV. I mean, young…He told me that he recently told a 13-year old girl that she was positive. 13!

Not that I think The Red Pump Project needs an explanation, but if I had to break it down…Luvvie and I are doing this simply because it has to be done. HIV/AIDS is very real and women and girls, especially Black and Latinas, are really being hit hard by this disease. So, we need to organize and do what we can to talk about this disease, talk about testing, and take steps to educate and protect ourselves.

Ladies, I hope you use this day to research the statistics and take a vow that you’ll protect yourselves at all costs. Guys, use today to think about how you can play a role in HIV/AIDS awareness and prevention. After all, we’re all connected and what affects one of us, affects all of us!

We’ve uploaded some Women and AIDS statistics to The Red Pump Project website, so stop on by there and get some knowledge!

Before I go any further, I have to give a huge “THANK YOU!!!” to all the fantastic bloggers who signed up to “Rock the Red Pump.” When Luvvie and I came up with the idea, we hoped that others would support the mission and the purpose behind it…And, so many of you did! See below for a list of allllll the amazing peeps rocking the red pump and helping to spread the word about the impact of HIV/AIDS in women and girls!!!

* A Blog of a Good Time
* A Day in the Life
* A Fly Girl’s World
* A Room Of My Own
* Adventures in Divorce
* Aesthetic Design Style
* Afrobella
* Aliya S. King
* AroundHarlem.com
* ArtiatesiaDeal
* Awesomely Luvvie
* Beauty Blvd
* Because I Said SO!
* Belle Noir Magazine::Big. Beautiful. You.
* Best Professional Designer Fashion Jewelry
* BK Diva Chronicles
* Black Woman Lost & Found
* blackgivesback
* Blaq.Vixen.Beauty
* Brownngirl
* Canto de Sirena
* Chronicles of a Lost WomanChild
* Circa 1982
* Clumps of Mascara
* Coming of Age
* Cubicle Crusaders
* Cutie Booty Cakes
* Diary of a Mad Therapist
* DiverCity, USA
* Electronic Village
* Eternal Sunshine
* Faux Goody Two Shoes
* Free Therapy… or else
* FROM MY BROWN EYED VIEW
* [fung’ke] [blak] [chik]
* GirlGrowingGraciously
* GOODENess!!!
* Healthbolt
* Hey, You Asked!
* House of IG
* I’ll Think Of a Title Later
* Inverted Reflection
* Joan of All Trades
* Love Becomes Her
* Love Notes From A Runner
* LUXE TIPS!
* Make Blog Not War
* Mattanda Creations
* Meilily
* Mel, A Dramatic Mommy
* Mopwater PR + Media Notes
* Mrs Windy City
* MUSEACDonline
* My Life – A Work In Progress
* MyBrownBaby
* Naked and Natural
* NoLa Divine: The Feel Good Inktress
* NSOROMA TUNTUM SHININ’
* Positively Adopted
* Princess Dominique – Fashion.Celebrity. Style
* random and pressing details
* rants of a wild child
* Reign of the Girl-Child
* RoboCop’s ProdigaL RevoluTion
* rsvp event planning and management
* Searching for Satisfaction
* See, What Had Happened Was…
* Shoe Smitten
* Shoes & Booze
* Single Sisters Speak Out
* Stripped
* Stylescrybe Says…
* Super Hussy Media
* Tea and Such
* The Anti Hair Slave
* The ChatterBox Reviews
* The Common Room
* The CurvyGurl Chronicles
* The Fabulous Giver
* The Goodie Bag
* The Holly Golightly Tales
* The Life & Times of Robin Monique
* The Mis-Education of Bessie Winn….
* Project Create-A-Home
* The Sassy Peach
* The Savvy Sistah
* The Soul of A Queen
* This Fabulous Life
* Verb Fashion
* What Would Thembi Do?
* Women Making Moves
* Urbane Girl

Also, don’t forget…If you’re in Chicago or Kansas City, then you come on out to one of our Red Pump Happy Hour!

If you’re in Chicago, come to The Red Pump Happy Hour at Plush Restaurant & Lounge (1104 W. Madison from 6:30 – 8:30 to network, socialize, and raise funds & awareness about the effect of AIDS on women and girls. Proceeds are going to the Chicago Women AIDS Project.

In Kansas City, GlamStarr is hosting a Red Pump Happy Hour at The Bulldog (1715 Main St.) from 5:30 – 8pm.

For my NYC peeps, AroundHarlem.com has a listing of events taking place in Harlem and other spots in the city!

If you’re looking for information in other parts of the country, please visit www.womenshealth.gov/NWGHAAD/events!

-kb

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 03 2009
Les

Hey Girl,

What a great cause! I have added this to my blog as well.

10 03 2009
thefabulousgiver

Thanks, Les! Can’t wait to read it!

10 03 2009
[fung'ke] [blak] [chik]

I love it! I’ve added my post today!

10 03 2009
brownngirl

Karyn! This is fab. I’ve added this to my post today, and I’ve been trying to add it to my sidebar widget, but I’ve been having the worst luck getting that to work. I have the same layout as you, so maybe you can help me. How’d you get the red pump in your sidebar widget??? It deletes the part from the html every time I go to save it. Thanks and keep up this great cause!

11 03 2009
Melanie @ Mel, A Dramatic Mommy

It was my pleasure! I had no idea the statistics were so alarming. This was an education for me too (and a great excuse to buy a pair of red shoes!)

Leave a Reply

