Busy Buzzing Around Chicago

22 03 2009

Hey, hey, hey! How’s everyone been doing? 

It’s been busy, busy, busy here in Chicago and I think the fantastic weather has had something to do with it! Here’s my mini-recap of what’s been happening in my world:

  • I started bikram yoga classes on Thursday! If you haven’t heard of it, bikram is yoga in a room heated to 105 degrees. Yes, I’m absolutely serious. I’ve already taken two classes and must say that I’m hooked. I’m focusing on my breathing and oneness, and I can feel the toxins leaving my body. The only downside is the whole hair issue. When you’re putting in work in 105 degrees, the amount of sweat is crazy. But, I don’t want to discourage you! Here’s the website to the studio I attend: www.bikramcitychicago.com! Best part? They give you freeze pops after class!!! YES! 🙂
  • I stopped by Aniko Salon and Spa on Thursday night for their Aniko Dream Glam event. It was a fabulous time complete with a DJ, wine, cupcakes, beautiful people, shopping, and beauty treatments! I had to haul ass to yoga so I only stayed long enough to chat with Sarah (Chic Gems), Marti (Aniko Owner), and Jenny (Evlove Intimates); and get a skin analysis. The proceeds from the event benefitted Dreams for Kids
  • Saturday morning, I volunteered for MS Day at the Museum of Science and Industry. Each year, the MS Society provides free admission and lunch to families affected by MS. It’s one of my favorite events to work, and this year was noooo different! It’s nice to see everyone just enjoy themselves and one of the coolest museums in the city!
  • Saturday afternoon, I popped into the “Each One, Teach One” female condom training and advocacy workshop. It was absolutely amazing to see young girls actively taking a role in their health, having discussions amongst themselves, and asking the educators questions. On the other end of the room, the women were talking about what they could do to make sure that young girls (and guys) were educated about safe sex. Thanks to the Chicago Women’s AIDS Project for the invite/information. I’m going to post pictures/video from the event on The Red Pump Project website!

Whew! So, as you can see…it’s been nonstop, and honestly, it’s only going to get crazier! I can’t wait!!! 🙂

-kb

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 03 2009
Luvvie

Wow! Spring is here and so is hectic schedules! I wished I coulda made the Female Condom workshop but I needed this weekend to recharge my drained body and mind.

23 03 2009
Marti Fernandez

Thank you for joining us! It was so nice to meet you in person. I might be joining you for yoga later this week. Have a fabulous day!

-Marti Fernandez

27 03 2009
thefabulousgiver

Marti, it was my pleasure as well! I’m sure that we’ll be seeing more of each other in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

