Recap: Dining Out for Life

4 05 2009
cimg0657

Tada!

On Thursday evening, a small group of us met up at Carnivale to have dinner in support of “Dining Out for Life.” We had SUCH a great time! Game 6 of the Bulls/Celtics game was playing so we didn’t actually make it to our table until 40 minutes before the kitchen closed. We just could NOT leave that bar area…Three overtimes. Really?!?

In the midst of all that excitement, I needed a couple of caipirinhas to calm my nerves. I had a mango and a pomegranate version, both of which were quite tasty and highly recommended! As always, the food and atmosphere was delightful and we had a blast dining and debating about Ray J, BET’s Harlem Heights, and ANTM.

The best part of it all was that it gave us an excuse to get together and eat/drink for charity. As mentioned in a previous post, the beneficiary of Dining Out for Life Chicago was AIDSCare. I spoke with the hostess about their participation and she explained that each participating restaurant agreed to donate a certain amount up front as well as a portion of the night’s proceeds.

Also, for all of my eco-philes, Carnivale is actually in the throes of a huge green initiative! They are a huge supporter of the Green City Market, have started a rooftop garden for seasonal vegetables, and use local products when available. You can learn more by visiting their website!

Overall…This Carnivale experience was two thumbs up, per the usual. And, I’m thinking that on my next visit, I will try a different entree, instead of going with my usual delight 🙂

-kb

P.S. I wish that I could tag the folks in the pic like on Facebook, but at least I can point out the bloggers in the pic!

Front – Me
2nd Row  (L to R) – The Sassy Peach, Six Twenty Seven
Not Pictured – Sexy and the Chi

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

